A history to admire.
The Collingwood Arms takes its name from the local merchant family which owned it up until 1955. There are strong ties with Northumberland’s 19th Century naval hero, Vice Admiral Cuthbert Collingwood, who served under Nelson around the time the hotel was built.
Indeed, our 15 bedrooms take their names from the 15 ships in Collingwood’s division at the Battle of Trafalgar: HMS Royal Sovereign (Flagship), Bellisle, Mars, Tonnant, Bellerophon, Colossus, Achilles, Polyphemus, Revenge, Swiftsure, Defiance, Thunderer, Prince of Wales, Dreadnought and Defence.
In 2007, the Collingwood Arms Hotel received a 21st century makeover. Award-winning architects collaborated with historians and local craftsmen who worked inside and out, to refurbish and re-instate period details, restoring this Grade II Listed Georgian building to its glorious best.
The Collingwood Arms Hotel offers the ideal base for exploring the unrivalled landscapes and discovering the fascinating stories of the people and places of north Northumberland and the Scottish Borders.